Tags

, ,

Image

I’ve been teaching myself needle tatting (or Frivolite if you’d rather).

 

Image

It’s a great improvement on shuttle tatting-quicker and a more consistent tension is achieved.
 
Image

 

 There are two active threads at anyone time (and sometimes more), the ball thread and the needle, or core, thread. The ball thread knots a series of hitches around a 15cm needle threaded with the core thread. The needle does not taper and is a consistent size from eye to tip. Different sizes of needle are used for the varying gauge of thread: the needle for this sample made from sewing thread is tiny, and very bendy, making work somewhat slower.
 
Image
 
This is a section of a collar piece before blocking.
 
Image
 
…and here, for your delectation, is a wee coronet…
 
Image
 
… starched and mounted on a ring of fine wire…
 
Image
 
I wear it around the house a lot: my mother always said I had ideas above my station.

 

